Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Community College -> SNHU BS CS [Help Mapping Alt Courses]
I'm an adult student in my forties. I'm starting from scratch w/o job or education as I spent my life as a full time mom raising 3 kids, two youngest of whom are Autistic (now divorcee.) I'm a disabled, afropolynesian, woman, trying to break into STEM.

My GPA is right now 3.84.

I started the traditional route for several reasons:
- FASFA & Financial Aid (money is an 
- GPA and related possible merit programs/scholarships
- Recommendation Letters
- Student ID (Discounts, like Github Student Dev Pack, cheap Adobe, etc.)
- Extracurriculars (helps with scholarships, i.e. Stem Club, etc.)
- LinkedIn Learning is free while I'm at BHCC (other certs/badges)
- Honors Program (mainly for accolades) I'm both in Phi Theta Kappa and Commonwealth Honors.
- Exhausting PELL and other grants before BS acquired to obtain as many certs/degrees I can lawfully

Next Degree Wanted: 
SNHU BS in Computer Science w Data Analysis Concentration
Budget: As LOW as possible
Pace: However long as neccessary but sooner the better (I'm not getting any younger lol)

Financial Aid:
Full Pell & MassGrant Currently Used 175% of 600%
10% SNHU Discount if I transfer from BHCC (yay!)
There are some perks for staying in "New England" (Still exploring)
I have a tuition waiver for BHCC which only covers $72 per class but it's something.
Special Scholarships/Grants(maybe- competitive) for Phi Theta Kappa
Currently ~1800 in savings and I usually get reimbursed from FASFA ~400/sem.

My AS w/Data Mgmt Cert will be done Dec 2023 but I'm thinking of extending to Spring2024.
I would like to enroll in SNHU for Spring 2024 or Fall 2024 and finish in <12mos
I MUST (because of a vocational program I'm in) finish a Bachelors (anywhere)
So I cannot do a Masters program that has a Bachelors along the way.
I CAN HOWEVER do a Bachelors (with concentration, dual concentration, with certificates, etc.)