Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Degree Planning from scratch for late career software engineer
I am seeking help with degree planning for my husband.  His next promotion up the software engineering management ladder requires a US based Bachelor's degree.  20 years ago I graduated from TESC (now TESU) with an AS and Excelsior with a BS, so I am familiar in general with what is/was out there.  There are some new players though that I am not as familiar with at this point and many more options in the realm of competency-based education.  I am interested in advice about program offerings that would fit his needs while still allowing for some growth and learning like he wants.

His Location: Texas, United States. 

His Age: 40s

What kind of degree does he want?: He has 25 years experience as a software engineer, with experience as a presenter at international conferences and recognized as a leader in his field.  If there was a programming based degree that could be significantly competency based or had many courses that could be challenged by exam or even by having someone review his code, software architecture etc in a portfolio review/PLA option, this would be super easy.  I don't see anything like that though.  WGU's Cloud Computing would be something that he could learn some new things as well as have academic verification of skills he has developed.

BUT -- lately he's gotten into management too, which he never thought he'd like until the last couple of years.  A business degree that actually teaches him new things and lets him put that knowledge to good use would also be useful and maybe actually better when looking towards the future.  So UMPI's BABA looked like a decent option or even their BLS with a Management or an MIS minor might really work OR perhaps even TAMUC's BAAS in Org Leadership (we are based in Texas and a local university would have more name recognition near us).

Current Regional Accredited Credits: 0