Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
English Comp
What course in English/College Comp would you recommend for someone basically starting from scratch?  I have no knowledge on APA/MLA formatting and very little experience writing papers of any kind.  I don't hate writing, but as a perfectionist, I prefer to be able to take my time and really think through things and rewrite as much as necessary.  I had wanted to take the CLEP so I could get it all over quickly.  But upon more research, it seems to be eerily similar to the essay portion of my SAT which I have bad memories of and didn't score well on.  After thinking it through, it seems like it would be good to get some practice in writing, especially before I take some upper level courses, so going through courses instead of CLEP would be better.  Are there English courses y'all would recommend or ones to definitely avoid?  Thanks!!
BALS-Humanities from TESU - June 2019

CLEP - A&I Lit, US History 1, US History 2, West Civ 1, Intro Sociology, American Lit, Humanities, Soc. Sci & History, English Lit
Sophia - Intro to Info Tech, Art History 1, Visual Communications, Managing Conflict, Building Effective Teams
Study - Personal Finance, Comm 120, Math 97, Bus 121, Lib Sci 101, Eng 104, Nutrition 101, Eng 105, His 108, Pol. Sci 102, Earth Sci 104, His 308, Bus 313, His 102, Eng 305, His 105, His 106, His 306, Geometry 101, Bus 324, Com 102
Institutes - Insurance Ethics
TESU - Cornerstone, Music History 2 TECEP, LIB Capstone

Further Credits - Sophia - Conflict Resolution, Enviro Science, Microecon, Intro to Stats, Into to Ethics, Found. of Stats, Ancient Greek Philosophers, Macroecon, Intro to Business, Project Management, Accounting, Art History 2
CLEP w/o Essay for Comp I
DSST Advanced English for Comp II
Both multiple choice

I seem to remember DSST Technical Writing being mentioned as a replacement for Comp II, but no idea if that panned out for TESU. Also multiple guess.
Up next:  WGU MSCSIA - Early 2023