Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ever thought about teaching overseas? What i've learned.
I just logged into this site for the first time in forever, and thought it'd be a good idea to share my experience in the international school market, especially in the years since I got my degree in Math from TESU.  If there are any old timers on here they might remember my Math Major Degree Plan from several years ago.  I was hoping this story can give students on this website a sense of what career paths are open to them, or even more so if you're interested in teaching abroad.  

So as I said earlier, I got the degree but it took longer than expected.  I ended up taking two years to complete the TESU requirements for a degree in math back in 2014.  I transferred in about 30 credits from my first year at B&M university.  At that point, I was still teaching ESL to adults in Shanghai; a job I enjoyed but felt stuck in for 6 years, no progress, the demand went up but the supply of teachers went up too; you really have to differentiate yourself over in that world.  I wasn't able to get a job teaching math off the bat; I was realizing good schools wouldn't really be interested in just a degree in math, and I also really didn't know how to teach.  Funny right?  I had been a flash card monkey, as we say in the teaching business.  Nothing wrong with that, but there's no career or fulfillment there, just easy money that goes down over time.  Unless of course you're entrepreneurial and find a way to sell yourself better, but that's not me.