Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
It's 2017 Income Tax Time and I have a question
sarg123 Wrote:I was wondering the same thing myself - has anyone had any experience of being able to deduct the $2000 residency waiver fee? That would be really nice if I could do that.

<DISCLAIMER> I am not a tax expert, lawyer or accountant. I am just someone spouting off on the Internet. Do not depend on me for expert tax advice.</DISCLAIMER>

The IRS Instructions for Form 8863 says "Generally, qualified education expenses are amounts paid in 2016 for tuition and fees required for the student's enrollment or attendance at an eligible educational institution."

My guess is that the Residency Waiver is therefore not deductible, as it isn't required for attendance -- you could take the classes instead. However, the Graduation Fee is unavoidable, so you might be able to deduct that. On the other hand, the Admission Fee is also unavoidable, and that wasn't included on the Form 1098-T that TESU sent me -- which I assumed meant it wasn't deductible.
The graduation fee showed up on my 1098T so I used it. I don't know how the residency waiver is handled, but I don't find your logic about "required" persuasive and would expect it to count.
NanoDegree: Intro to Self-Driving Cars (2019)
Coursera: Stanford Machine Learning (2019)
TESU: BA in Comp Sci (2016)
TECEP:Env Ethics (2015); TESU PLA:Software Eng, Computer Arch, C++, Advanced C++, Data Struct (2015); TESU Courses:Capstone, Database Mngmnt Sys, Op Sys, Artificial Intel, Discrete Math, Intro to Portfolio Dev, Intro PLA (2014-16); DSST:Anthro, Pers Fin, Astronomy (2014); CLEP:Intro to Soc (2014); Saylor.org:Intro to Computers (2014); CC: 69 units (1980-88)

PLA Tips Thread - TESU: What is in a Portfolio?
bghill Wrote:<DISCLAIMER> I am not a tax expert, lawyer or accountant. I am just someone spouting off on the Internet. Do not depend on me for expert tax advice.</DISCLAIMER>