Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Over-studying?
I first used Instacert when studying for the Business Law CLEP last fall. I also used the Barron's Law book to study for this exam. I probably spent about 3-4 weeks of studying and passed it with a score of 53. That was my first CLEP exam.

I am now preparing for my second CLEP - Microeconomics. I will take the exam a week from Friday. I have been studying for a few weeks now from a college Microeconomics textbook. I've been taking notes like crazy according to what's required on the CLEP study guide for this subject. I have also started the Instacert studying this week.

I understand the CLEP exams are a pass/fail which a minimum score needed of 50 to pass. The problem I think I am having is that I am over-studying. I also felt that way when I was studying for Business Law but 'only' passed with a 53. I'm a bit nervous going into the Micro CLEP exam. It seems like I have this mindset as I'm studying that I 'need' to know ALL the answers and I am pretty hard on myself to really cram this material into my head. I suppose the goal is to study EVERYTHING related to the topic, and shown on the CLEP study guides, but I've noticed some people study for much shorter periods and get pretty decent scores (compared to my 53 in Business Law after studying, what I thought, was my tail off).

Any suggestions on how to make it easier? Or...how to not feel like I 'need' to get 100% of the questions correct? I really studied my heart out for Business Law and passed but would like to strive to get a higher number on the Micro exam. Any suggestions from those who have been through a few CLEPs? What made it easy? What made it hard in terms of studying the material?
swthing64 Wrote:I first used Instacert when studying for the Business Law CLEP last fall. I also used the Barron's Law book to study for this exam. I probably spent about 3-4 weeks of studying and passed it with a score of 53. That was my first CLEP exam.