Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Passed CLEP Financial Accounting with a 65!!!
I am super excited you guys. This is my first post on this site but I have been lurking on here for the past month. I took my first CLEP exam yesterday for accounting and I got a 65!!!! When I hit submit I literally thought I failed the exam but all the hours of studying I did seems to have worked. I guess I just wanted to brag a little because prior to studying for the CLEP I had no experience with accounting at all and I took the exam to test out of the pre-reqs I need for an accounting post-bacc program that I'm enrolled in.
[-] The following 2 users Like mecurtis's post:
  • alexf.1990, quigongene
Congrats! What did you use to study and how many hours total would you say?
(01-24-2019, 09:48 PM)acamp Wrote: Congrats!  What did you use to study and how many hours total would you say?

I studied for around 6-7 weeks for 2-3 hours a day on average and I used so many different resources its kind of funny. I used several online accounting resources like Accounting Coach, Udemy, Khan Academy, a textbook, and so many youtube videos. I also used Modern States Modern States but in my opinion, the lectures are complete trash and if anyone uses them for financial accounting you will leave more confused and led astray than helped, however, the textbook they use is pretty good at explaining things and I really like it. But the most important part,  you have to put the time in. Accounting isn't intuitive, you have to practice as far as I know there is no real way to cram for accounting if you don't have a baseline understanding of what you are doing.  I hope that helps!
(01-24-2019, 10:37 PM)mecurtis Wrote:
(01-24-2019, 09:48 PM)acamp Wrote: Congrats!  What did you use to study and how many hours total would you say?