Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Students going to school to check a box and nobody learning for free
This article is mostly about how there is "massive credential inflation" meaning employees need more and more education. But I found this interesting:

Quote:If you flunk a class, plenty of employers will trash your application. But if you pass that same class, then forget everything you learned, employers will shrug.

And this, because I like the idea of sitting in on free Ivy League classes. I know it can be done online, but this guy suggests it can be done in person:

Quote:Almost everyone pays lip service to the glories of education, but actions speak louder than words. Ponder this: If a student wants to study at Princeton, he doesn't really need to apply or pay tuition. He can simply show up and start taking classes. As a professor, I assure you that we make near-zero effort to stop unofficial education; indeed, the rare, earnestly curious student touches our hearts. At the end of four years at Princeton, though, the guerrilla student would lack one precious thing: a diploma. The fact that almost no one tries this route — saving hundreds of thousands of dollars along the way — is a strong sign that students understand the value of certification over actual learning.

[-] The following 4 users Like Ideas's post:
  • greencouch, MSK9, originalamyj, StoicJ
Well, they might not be sitting in on HIS class, but I think many people attend non-credit seminars and speeches.

And there are certainly people who take all the free online MIT courses.