Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
TESC "Two Areas of Study" per degree
All, I already have a bachelor's degree so I only get one more shot at an undergrad degree. I noticed this among TESC's undergraduate academic policies:

Quote:Two Areas of Study Within One Degree
Students may complete up to two areas of study within one bachelor’s degree. No more than 9 credits that are used in the first area of study may be used for the second area of study. All related required credits for each area of study, as well as all degree requirements, must be met at the same time.

Source is Academic Policies and Ways to Earn Credit - Thomas Edison State College - acalog ACMSâ„¢.

I have a lot of business credits, a number of which were taken after I got my bachelor's. I am actually working on the upper level requirements for the BA in Natural Sciences and Mathematics, but I would only need a few more courses for an accounting major in addition to the BA in Nat Sci/Math. Is that possible, given that a business degrees is a BS and the Nat Sci/Math degree is a BA? Are there any other potential pitfalls I should be aware of?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts....
Great question....when I first read about the two areas of study, I assumed that my son could also do a BA Computer Science and a BSBA. What TESC doesn't do a good job of explaining is that the two Areas of Study must come from within the same degree PROGRAM. So you could have two within the BA or two within the BSBA but you couldn't combine a BA and a BSBA.

I went round and round with everyone on this about six months ago...but it still doesn't hurt to ask again. If they say it is possible then please post this information.
Excelsior - BS Business 2008
Son #1 TESC BSBA Computer Information Systems completed June 2010
Son #2 TESC BA Computer Science completed November 2010 Currently in Florida State (FSU) Masters CS program and loving it