Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Troubles Grow for a University Built on Profits (U Phoenix)
Troubles Grow for a University Built on Profits - New York Times

The University of Phoenix

The complaints have built through months of turmoil. The president resigned, as did the chief executive and other top officers at the Apollo Group, the university’s parent corporation. A federal court reinstated a lawsuit accusing the university of fraudulently obtaining hundreds of millions of dollars in financial aid. The university denies wrongdoing. Apollo stock fell so far that in November, CNBC featured it on a “Biggest Losers” segment. The stock has since gained back some ground. In November, the Intel Corporation excluded the university from its tuition reimbursement program, saying it lacked top-notch accreditation.
Not trying to bad Mouth but I had bad exprience with getting help and information from the faculty when I was at UOP, I was a student at Phoenix, until last Month, and thank goodness I came to this Forum and learnt about the Big three.
The adminstrators are excellent at persuing students to Enroll and very slow at answering any questions.
I was pushed to the edge when I found out a DSST Exam that I wrote from UOP burlington campus on February 17 2007 was not sent for marking by March 6th. I It took me calling them after I noticed that DSST had not charged my credit card for the Exam, I called DSST and they said they had not recieved by Exam, when I called UOP my academic counsellor believe it or not told me she was still making sure I had filled in the right information before she mailed my Exam.
This and many other issues made me decide to enroll with EC
Reply to the NY times from Bill Pepicello
President, University of Phoenix
Phoenix, Feb. 13, 2007

For-Profit University (1 Letter) - New York Times

Facts about UOP:

The Facts About University of Phoenix
Ronin Smile
[COLOR="Blue"]

What's left:

Excelsior Ethics exam

BSB Excelsior College Cool