Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What do you think about credential stacking?
I'm not sure if that's what it's called, but I'm thinking about getting as many easy certificates and licenses as I can. When I say easy, I mean something that doesn't require a long and costly training program that would make it difficult for me to continue working full-time. It could turn out to be cheaper than getting another bachelors or masters degree. Through self-study, I could take the test to become a pharmacy technician and become licensed by the state. I could also self-study for the national optician tests. Texas has voluntary registration for this field, but the national certification is preferred by employers. I'm also thinking about self-studying for the CISSP (I have more than 5 years of experience in two domains), a few of the COMPTIA exams, and maybe some Cisco or Microsoft certifications. Another option is to study for some insurance licenses. Since my background is in criminal justice, paralegal studies seems like a natural path; but, every job I look at requires experience and I don't want to get stuck in that rut again. I can't even get a job in social services or substance abuse counseling without experience.