Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Advice Needed for School & Degree Plan
Question 
Hi! I am currently a software engineer with about 3 years of experience. I went to a coding bootcamp and have not earned any sort of degree. I am wanting to pursue a degree to help keep me competitive in the future in the case that I find myself looking for a new job. I am unsure if any degree would be enough to check the box or if I should look at something more technical for my use case. I would also like to keep the option open to pursue a Master's Degree in my future, although I am not sure if that's what my future holds (one step at a time). I want to complete my degree online and I am also unsure where the best fit for me would be.

Your Location: South Carolina, United States.
Your Age: 29.
What kind of degree do you want?: Software Engineering, Computer Science, Computer Information Systems. (open to suggestions)

Budget: I have about $5,000 budgeted, but I can be a little bit flexible if it feels justified. I'd like to go the cheapest route possible.  
Commitments: I currently work full time from home. I have a wife and a dog (no kids).
Dedicated time to study: I can study about 25 - 30 hours a week.
Timeline: Finishing the courses required for the degree as fast as possible would be ideal.  I would like to finish within 1-1.5 years (12-18 months)
Tuition assistance/reimbursement: No.

Current Regional Accredited Credits:

Metropolitan Community College - Kansas City, Total Credits: 13 (2013)
BSAD 221 Business Communications / 3 / A
COLL 100 First-Year Seminar / 1 / B
ECON 211 Microeconomics / 3 / C
ENGL 101 Composition & Reading 1 / 3 / B
MATH 120 College Algebra / 3 / C

Park University, Total Credits: 6 (2014)
SO 141 Introduction to Sociology / 3 / C
RE 109 World Religions / 3 / B

Current ACE, CLEP, or NCCRS Credits:

Sophia Credits: 63
ARTHIST1001 - Art History 1 / 3 / A
ARTHIST1002 - Art History 2 / 3 / B
BUS1001 - Introduction to Business / 3 / B