Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
BA in Computer Science
Hello, I am new to the idea of CBE, and was wondering if anyone had achieved a BA in Computer Science by testing out of courses. I am confused as to what courses my CLEPs and DSSTs will actually get me out of. Will I basically only be able to test out of GEs, or is there a plan where I can test out of some of the CS courses? I am looking primarily at TESC, but if you completed a computer science degree at any of the big 3 and have advice for me, it would be much appreciated! P.S. I am not expecting you to write me an entire plan, just curious what I might actually be able to test out of. Also, would ALEKS be useful to get my math credits? Thank you ahead of time!
For any TESC degree you can usually test out of general education requirements and free electives using CLEP, DSST, Straighterline, Aleks and FEMA credits. I took College Algebra and Statistics using Aleks. I took Calculus I & II plus some other natural sciences at Straighterline. I did 20 CLEP & DSST exams. I did a bunch of FEMA credits to fill in the free electives. I would do this before even applying to TESC.

That leaves your area of study. There are two DSST exams (Intro to Computing and Management Information Systems) that can be used for 6 of the 33 needed credits. That leaves 24 credits plus the capstone.

There is a TECEP for CMP-354 Network Technology.

You can also use IT certifications for credit especially if ACE approved. See this thread.
http://www.degreeforum.net/excelsior-tho...-your.html

I did the entire degree start to finish in about 18 months. I spent around 12 months doing CLEP, DSST, Aleks, Straighterline and FEMA. I think I got like 15-18 credits from IT certifications.

Search the forums there is a lot of info on TESC computer degrees.

Hope this helps! Good luck.
Did you check out the degree forum Wiki? TESC Degree Plans - Degree Forum Wiki or Degree Forum Wiki.

Also this equivalency sheet might help