Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Career Objectives
What do you want to do with your degree? Most of us probably have some reason for wanting our degree (promotion, graduate school, family pressure to get an education, a job in a field).

My reasons: Virtually every career I've ever considered requires a degree. I'm working toward law school, which requires a degree first. Of course, there are other issues too. Even if I never went to law school, I would want a degree just because it looks good on a resume. It's expected. Plus, I simply enjoy learning.

What is motivating you to pursue your degree?
I'm an engineer. Go figure.
I always realized that a degree, any degree, is important career-wise. It's that little piece of paper, those extra letters after your name, that say you're "worth more" than those who don't have them. Sometimes it doesn't matter what your degree is in... I know someone who has a Bachelors in History and works as an information analyst for an insurance company... how did that happen???

Yet, I never stuck with school. I always lost my motivation mid-semester and dropped out, which wreaked havoc on my transcripts! I never had a career goal, never figured out what I wanted to do when I "grow up". Then about 1 1/2 years ago, I realized law might be what I'm really good at. So yes, I too want to go on to law school.

So, here I am, working on getting my BS (the good kind Wink). Every time I get a little discouraged and think, "Ughh, I just can't do this, it's too hard!", I picture myself a few years from now telling someone I meet, "I'm a lawyer", and that keeps me going! Hopefully it will all work out as I hope. But if it doesn't, I'll always have my bachelor's degree, and those 2 letters after my name!
[SIZE="1"]Ana
[COLOR="DarkRed"]96 credits completed (93 by exam)
BS in General Business, Excelsior College (33 credits remaining)
Next exams: DSST Statistics, DSST Business Law 2