Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
APA word count
I was wondering the general rule of thumb when getting a word count on an essay.  I have always used the entire paper (title page, abstract, body, headings, citation, references, etc) to get the total word count for my essay's.  First time ever, I was deducted points for being well below the word count, the professor only used the body.  I am working on my last couple of classes to complete my BSBA at COSC and am using Study.com.....needless to say, I have had a lot of experience writing papers and am confused by this one instance.

Curious how everyone else gets their word count, and if anyone has experienced this issue.

Thanks!!!

Jody
When I took Freshman English at a community college, the professor counted everything. I cannot recall what the APA style guide said, though. The instructor was pretty easy-going, so she might have let things slide.

That's the nice thing about taking a course with an instructor. What s/he says, goes. You don't have to guess what's expected.
[-] The following 1 user Likes LongRoad's post:
  • jthatcher50
APA says to count everything.

https://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2016/...-this.html

https://libanswers.jcu.edu.au/faq/238295
[-] The following 2 users Like rachel83az's post:
  • Diana321, jthatcher50
Huh, guess I never really thought about this. Years ago, my professors at the community college I was attending said that only the body of the paper counts. Friends of mine that attended the bigger universities around here say the same thing, only the body and not title pages/reference pages/etc. But the interwebs seem to have a mixed opinion on this, with most stating that the learning institution sets the rule - which is not helpful in your situation as I don't think study.com is clear on this. I thought I saw mention that APA says everything is included.