Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Crisis question
Hie all, I have aquestion that maybe a little wierd but bear with me please. So I am currently a strategic management and innovation management lecturer here in Belgium at the equiavalent of what you would call a community college over there..I am 31 and I started lecturing at 23 as I initially got hired by the school I graduated from due to my high grades when I was pursuing my Bsc. there. I have just learned that my contract will not be renewed it runs out in December 2020. I need new skills, I know an eduaction will not give me skills but it will potentially get me through the door at a company where I can hone in on a set of skills....

I have no passion areas really to be honest, so I am open to suggestions....i know this maybe stupid but I just need a help finding direction...I have no bearings at all and its keeping me up at night...I need skills that are markatable!!!!My experience and education has no tangible skills...no one is looking for an innovation manager or any kind of manager straight from academia...so please suggest, programming, accounting, anything really I could do between now and March 2021.

Much love

Tince

So in short I have an Masters education and no skills, maybe reading long journal entries and lecturing if that is considered a skill..I have no future in academia, so what do I do to get ready for the private sector by Mrch, latest May 2021?
Hi Tince!

It sounds like you are referring to what they call as "hard" skills.

I would say every skill, most especially "soft", is marketable as it depends on how you spin it to prospective employers.