Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
English Composition no longer available as CLEP?
I'm new to the CLEP routine, but have tested out of American Government. I was going to take English Comp because I failed the course years ago and wanted to replace that with a passing grade. I've been studying on Instant Cert and was ready to schedule the exam, but it is not available anymore.
I called The College Board and they said that English Comp and Freshman English are no longer offered and have been replaced by College Comp.

The degree plan at TESC for Business-Finance still lists English Comp as a requirement.

So- will the College Comp fill the requirements of English Comp at TESC?

And- is the exam much different?

Many thanks!
There are two CLEP exams now, College Composition and College Composition Modular. New names for what is essentially the same thing. I don't know which exam you should take - that's for you to find out using official sources. Many institutions are slow in updating their CLEP policies to use the new names.

For the benefit of all who see this, it's important to check and recheck on anything and everything concerning academic credits. What I tell you may be incorrect. What you read on this forum can be incorrect - not necessarily because it is wrong, but because what is right could change between the publication date and when you read a post. Sometimes you'll even be told something about CLEP by a school official that is incorrect. Do your research and double check.
63 CLEP Sociology
75 CLEP U.S. History II
63 CLEP College Algebra
70 CLEP Analyzing and Interpreting Literature
68 DSST Technical Writing
72 CLEP U.S. History I
77 CLEP College Mathematics
470 DSST Statistics
53 CLEP College Composition
73 CLEP Biology
54 CLEP Chemistry
77 CLEP Information Systems and Computer Applications
@TESC CLEP - College-Level Exam Program

College Comp = ENC-101 & ENC-102 (6 CR)
College Comp Modular = ENC-101 (3 CR)