Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Harvard Extension School
I thought I would post an update since my private message box is getting 2 or 3 messages each week asking for information about my experience at Harvard. I'm happy to share, and happy to respond to PMs also. But, here is a general overview of the program and what I'm doing and how it's going. I'm taking a psychology course, and toying with the idea of a psychology or anthropology concentration.

My background- I'm a chef by trade and hadn't been to school for 18 years when I found IC. I completed my AA and BA at TESC through a combination of testing, online courses, and credit for courses taught (I teach culinary arts at a community college and you can earn credit for that through TESC). It took me 18 months from start to finish. I'm not especially bright, but I'm a motivated adult who was star-struck by the idea that I could attend Harvard at my age :eek: I'm 38. My highest CLEP score was a 69, but I averaged about 55-60 on my tests. I graduated high school with about a 3.0, I graduated culinary school with a 3.1, and graduated from TESC with a 3.87.

Harvard University (the real one) offers open enrollment courses to anyone through their Extension (community education) college. You don't even need a degree to register. You simply sign up and pay the fee. These courses can be taken for no-credit, undergrad bachelor level credit, or master's degree graduate level credit. In a nutshell (for the long version, go to Welcome to Harvard University) you must take 3 classes in the degree program you wish to complete with a B or better and then you can apply to the program to earn a master's degree. (so, the CLASSES are open enrollment- but you must apply for the DEGREE program after you prove yourself in the classes).