Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
TESU AS and BA question
I will be graduating this year with a BA in CS from TESU. I can also get an ASNSM in CS & Math at the same time. 

My evaluation shows that I have met all the requirements and will not need to take any additional classes for the ASNSM degrees. 

So no extra time or money involved. Among my concerns however is that:
1)     Associates degrees are generally given by community colleges, not 4-year senior colleges.
2)     Associates are lower level degrees and not normally given at the same time as a Bachelors.

I am a college-aged student at the beginning of my career and am concerned that getting all 3 degrees instead of just the BA instead of enhancing my credentials could have the opposite effect.  So should I get all 3 or just the BA?
How far away from graduation are you? If you are not quite finished with your BACS, you could maybe apply for the ASNSM Math/CS first since those are complete and then the BACS in the next graduation cycle. I think you need to ensure graduation takes place in the same year in order to not have to pay the residency waiver fee again. 

On the other hand, if you are all done and ready to graduate now, I can't personally see where earning more degrees at the same time would do any harm, especially if it does not require any extra effort or money on your part. You earned them, I would claim them if it were me. Many here have done the same, even intentionally. 

You may not choose to always list both of those ASNSM degrees on your CV especially since the ASNSM in CS would probably just waste space along side of the BACS, but in some cases the ASNSM in Math could be beneficial to include. Also, there are plenty of 4 year colleges that offer both Associate and Bachelor level programs so I wouldn't worry too much about that, although you are right, that it is more common to see the Associates level degree earned first.