Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
UMPI to brick and mortar college for Masters
Hello Guys,

My first session here at UMPI is going great and I am on track to graduate by this December. This has got me thinking if I should try graduate school at a traditional school. My degree is a BA in Accounting, so I'd like to go for a Masters in Accounting or in Finance.

I am not sure how grad school admissions committees will see my transcript with 45 credits completed in a semester. Also, I am not sure what I'd do about recommendations as I barely interact with professors. I guess my professional references might save me though! I was considering completing some CPA exams before applying to grad school and also acing the GMAT to show I could hand handle their coursework.

If any of you have made this kind of a jump, I'd love to hear your story. You guys have really motivated me to get my degree after being in and out of school for 8 years and I am very grateful to you.
I had one of my professors several times and earned really good grades in all of her classes. I had a few phone calls and Zoom meetings with her throughout my courses. I asked her for a letter of recommendation and she gave me one no problem. I was in grad school over the summer. No one cared how many credits I completed in a semester. They only checked to see that I had a completed bachelor's degree. I earned a 4.0 so if someone gave me a hard time I would have told them off. I worked my tail off to complete my UMPI degree.
[-] The following 4 users Like ss20ts's post:
  • cpoteraske, crotique, jch, Pikachu