Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My first post- advice on path to complete my degrees in Biology and Insurance?
Hi guys,

I've been lurking around for a bit and finally decided to register because I think I have some questions!

A little background: I'm a manager at an insurance agency and would like to make a change from an incomplete biology degree to business. I'm 37 hours short of completing my bachelors from a local university. I eventually intend to complete my CPCU designation for insurance, which I know can give some hours as well in the future.

I am looking at Excelsior College because they offer a natural science degree (which I would like to complete since I'm soooooo close) and a business degree for risk management and insurance. My eventual goal is to go for either an MBA or MSIM (MS in Insurance Management, Boston U. offers it purely online).

I was trying to see, based on the courses I still need to complete, if anyone has any advice.

Here is what I know I need so far, going from a biology major to business.

Natural Science (bio focus)
Capstone course
Evolution course
Ecology course
Plant course (like plant anatomy or botany)
Anat. and physiology course

I only need the capstone and 34 more hours if I went the NS way without a major. I already completed pre-calc, stats, chemistry 1+2, organic 1, physics 1, and multiple sciences like cell biology and molecular genetics.

Business with RMI focus
Capstone course
Financial Accounting (CPCU course can complete)
Managerial Accounting
Business Law (CPCU course can complete)
Principles of Marketing
Production management/operations management
Risk Management (CPCU course can complete)
Risk Financing or Risk Control (CPCU elective can complete)
Principles of Insurance (CPCU course can complete)
Computer Literacy
Macroeconomics (already completed micro)
Business Ethics
Organizational Behavior