Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
TESU to finish my bach in Crim Jus QUES about PLA?
Question for all. My eval just finished. I have an AA from back in day. All those credits (64)transferred. I've been a police officer in NJ for 20+ yrs now. Some other credits came as well.

W/ this PLA thing....... How many classes would they let me get credit for in Criminal Justice? The website says "no limit".

I've been a certified police instructor in NJ. Can easily teach some of the courses like Criminal Law, Motor vehicle Law, Reporting writing, Hostage Negotiations, and others...........

If I took this P.L.A. do you guys think I could get credits for those type of classes (lets say I ask for 6 classes -18 credits) as long as I prove my knowledge in the fields?

That's how I read it. Wondering what you other professionals think? OR Is it worth it or just take CLEP, TECEP or DSST tests in other stuff that would take less time?

Thoughts??? Thanks
Please view the Beginners Guide and Wiki as well. There's a few items and I think there's a CJ degree plan also.

That's a very very good question! As you only have 64 credits, you would need roughly 60 more for the degree.
Your best usage for PLA is for the courses NOT readily available, which is exactly what you mentioned, the AOS (Area of Study).

Check out this webpage for the degree requirements: Bachelor's Degree in Criminal Justice at Thomas Edison State University

Create a spreadsheet (or modify one of dfrecore's), verify what you already have and list what's needed.
For the easily available courses, find the cheapest/easiest/fastest ones from Davar, Saylor/Straighterline/Study.com
In Progress: Walden MBA | TESU BA Biology & Computer Science
Graduate Certificate: Global Management & Entrepreneurship, ASU (Freebie)

Completed: TESU ASNSM Biology, BSBA (ACBSP Accredited 2017)
Universidad Isabel I: ENEB MBA, Big Data & BI, Digital Marketing & E-Commerce