Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Does it makes sense to have two AAS Degrees?
Here's my situation:
I work in IT and concentrate on Public Safety IT Management (police, fire, emergency mngmt). In this field, experience is definitely key over education. It's a very unique area of IT. I decided on my own to go back to school after almost 25 years. I am not the best in school, I am almost finished with my AAS in Applied Computer Studies. I really don't think I can continue on to a bachelors. The course requirements are not my cup of tea (marcro/micro, stats, etc) and my time is limited as police and fire run 24/7 and sometimes require my help after hours. So I was thinking of getting a second AAS in Environmental Safety and Security Technology since my credits will apply to both areas.

I value the opinion of this forum and would love to hear everyones thoughts. Please don't post "get your bachelors" because I know that is the better option but I really don't think that will happen.

I really just want to know what your thoughts are on have two AAS degrees.

THANKS!!!
I think, given your parameters earning the two AAS makes some sense. It is a relatively quick way to demonstrate some concentrated study in separate areas. I'm not sure what value an employer will place on it, but you relate a lot of experience...so maybe that's ok. It still won't check the box for a Bachelors that so many employers find critical as the price of admission for consideration....you have to get past the recruiter/human resources personnel to even get an interview.

Since you asked me not to, I won't point out that once you have a handful of unsavory courses out of the way (you mentioned a few gen eds) the rest would be right back in your area of interest.