Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
a little WGU MBA review....
Quick update....after I graduated, the program underwent significant changes. Know that the program as I experienced it doesn't really exist anymore. I still recommend the program, there isn't much out there that quite matches the WGU competency based approach....but you will now have exams and tests as part of the coursework...you can no longer write your way through...May 19, 2015.

[/I]I'm officially 19 days into the Western Governors MBA in Management & Strategy, just notified that I have finished the Human resources Management component (2 competency units). I have to say I mostly like the format. You are given an assignment, shown the grading rubric, allowed access to the course materials....and your off! Finish as fast as you like, plenty of support form the course mentor (he called me twice to extend his help). There are active online facebook pages for each class made up of students, and there is a student mentor assigned to you that calls weekly and keeps moving things around for you, I was even able to entertain taking courses out of the normal sequence, though in the end I opted to just take them as they come.

It happens that I have become very busy and I'm not able to devote the time I had hoped to getting things done...but I'm still moving light years faster than a traditional MBA program...cool for me, I'm satisfied with it.

Very happy about the price structure $3500/semester, which actually runs for 6 calendar months in which you can complete as many courses as you like...some have rocked out an MBA in as little as one semester, it's often done in 2 semesters, and most commonly finished in just 3 (or 18 months). No books to buy, all study material is included.