Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Second Bachelor’s with FlexPath?
I have been thinking about getting an additional or higher degree for a long time.  I have a BA degree in Sociology that I earned in 1997.  Then I took a few more courses to get a Paralegal certificate in 2000.  I have taken a couple of courses on Sophia last year when it was free and am trying out a few on Saylor Academy and Onlinedegree.com.  My interest is Business/HR.

I shy away from getting an MBA at this point mostly because I have been out of school for about 20 years now and my GPA was a 2.5 at best.  I really don’t know that I can just jump back in to the demands at a Master’s level.  I have recently learned that several things that I learned in school are no longer acceptable. (Like my double spaces at the end of a sentence!)

I looked in to Excelsior, but they seem to just want to steer me toward a MBA program.   Then I heard about a few people that were able to finish their bachelor’s using FlexPath at Capella within one term, after doing all the Sophia classes.  I thought... well if I could get a second bacheor’s that quickly for around $3,000, that would be a great option.  I think a current Business degree would be much more useful than Sociology. 

Any experiences with getting a second bachelor’s using FlexPath or similar?
MBA, starting July 2022
BA, Sociology 
Certificate, Paralegal Studies
Certificate, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in the Workplace
Certificate, Global Entrepreneurship & Innovation Virtual Bootcamp
Sophia: 17 credits

LawShelf affiliate (NCCRS credits)
Buy one, get one free with my affiliate code: VK375
https://lawshelf.com/videocoursesview
FlexPath: No. You actually have to take a number of credits at standard rates before you are allowed to participate in FlexPath. That $3k degree would wind up costing over $10k, IIRC. Even TESU would be cheaper.